fifty-eight, fifty-seven, fifty-three, fifty-one: poirot

the Third Girl by Agatha Christie (1966)

Hercule Poirot has a young girl waiting for him in his office, when making the appointment she said “I think I have committed a murder” to Ms Lemon, his secretary. But when she sees Poirot, she says that she cannot tell him because he is too old. Despite being very offended, Poirot decides to get to the bottom of this case, even if the girl refuses to cooperate. Together with Mrs Ariadne Oliver he gets to the truth.

This story is written in the 1960s, and it is weird having Poirot in the same time period as the Beatles, LSD and computers. But the plot in this one is truly awesome and I really enjoyed reading this one.

Hallowe’en Party (1969)

Mrs Ariadne Oliver is visiting a friend on the country side when a child is found murdered at a Hallowe’en Party. The child had said that she had witnessed a murder shortly before she herself was murdered. Mrs Oliver calls up Hercule Poirot and together they do not just solve one murder, but several.

Elephants Can Remember (1972)

Mrs Ariadne Oliver is asked the strangest question concerning her god-daughter at an event; Did her mother kill her father or was it the father who killed the mother? The couple had been found shot and the investigation at that time concluded with double-suicide. With the help of Mr Poirot, Mrs Oliver starts looking for clues among her friends for a tragedy that happened fifteen years earlier. And the truth is more spectacular and tragic that anyone could guess.

the Pale Horse (1961)

An old Catholic priest is found murdered and in his shoe a list of names is found. When Mrs Oliver is told the story of the peculiar findings, she recognises one of the names on the list and says that the woman died recently of an illness. Her friend, Mr Easterbrook also recognises some names, also dead persons, and they start to look into the case. Mr Easterbrook quickly discovers that the clues lead to an old inn, the Pale Horse, that is now inhabited by witches.

This story doesn’t involve Mr Poirot at all, and it was written in a different style than the rest of the novels I have read by Agatha Christie. Confusing in the beginning and no surprises at the end when it is all solved. But it is brilliant and I really enjoyed reading it.

All these novels are found in the Complete Ariadne Oliver volume 2 omnibus. I really grow fond of Mrs Oliver and is sad that there are no more stories concerning her.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s